4084 lượt xem

(HCM City) Food in Saigon: Street food

12/03/2013 - 17:26 | TP. HCM

The best food is usually on the street!

It may be a terrifying experience walking along messy streets in Saigon but in terms of street cuisine, it is among the most terrific. HCM City has been listed in the top 10 of world's best street food destinations, which was compiled by Food and Wine magazine, a monthly publication of American Express Publishing. 

Here are some suggestions on which street food you should try as coming to HCM City.

 

1. Pho (beef/chicken noodles)

It’s not a supprise as pho has been voted “Vietnamese best dish” by many publications worldwide. This simple staple consists of a salty broth, fresh rice noodles, a sprinkling of herbs and beef or chicken. Don’t forget to enjoy pho with soy sauce (tuong den), it will give you a true authentic taste!

 

Where to eat?

Pho Quynh: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/pho-quynh-pho-bo-bo-kho

(near Backpackers Area - Pham Ngu Lao Street)

Pho Thin: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/pho-thin

(near The Reunification Palace)

Pho Hoa: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/pho-hoa

(near The Reunification Palace)

 

2. Com tam (broken rice)  

Com tam is one of the most favourite breakfast choices for Saigonese. The white cooked rice mixed with greased scallions and barbecued pork rib form an unforgettable dish for all first-time diners. If fish sauce doesn’t suit you, use soy bean instead, still good though!

 

Where to eat?

Com tam 60B: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/com-tam-60b

(near The War Remnants Museum)

Com tam Blue Moon: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/blue-moon-com-tam

(near Tan Dinh Market)

 

3. Trai cay dia (fruit sallad), sinh to (fruit shakes)

The hot climate of HCM City may tire you out so it’s a great idea to refresh with tropical fruits. There are several kinds which are rare in Western countries like: blue dragon, breadfruit, mango,… So one street fruit sallad bolw may include: fresh fruits, sweetened yogurt, and crushed ice mixed in a really tasty strawberry/orange juice syrup. Yummy!

 

Where to eat?

Trai cay to: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/trai-cay-to

(near New World Hotel)

 

4. Banh mi (Vietnamese baguette)

Banh mi is quite different from hamburger or sandwich. The crunchy shell bread contains inside a combination of cold cuts, sliced sausage, margarine, pickled vegetables and fresh cilantro. Banh mi guarantees a more healthful meal than western fatty hamburgers.

 

Where to eat?

Banh mi Viet: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/banh-mi-viet-pasteur

(near Ben Thanh Market)

Banh mi Nhu Lan: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/banh-mi-nhu-lan-64-ham-nghi

(near Ben Thanh Market)

Banh mi Huynh Hoa: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/huynh-hoa

(near New World Hotel)

 

5. Hanoi street food: xoi kem (ice cream with sticky rice), nem chua ran (fried meat roll)

 

Nem chua ran

Where to eat?

Ngo 89: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/ngo-89-tra-chanh-chem-gio

(near The Notre Dame)

 

Xoi kem

Where to eat?

Trop B: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/trop-b

(near Tao Dan Park)

 

6. Oc (snails), hai san (seafood)

Vietnam is gifted with the coastline stretching over 3000 kilometers in length, which means seafood here is in abundance. You will certainly find many exotic snails and of course, they are really delicious. Try these: bach tuoc nuong (barbecued octopus), oc xao me (snail cooked in tamarind sauce), ngheu hap Thai (steamed shell in Thai style).

 

Where to eat?

Oc Dao Nguyen Thai Hoc: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/oc-dao-nguyen-thai-hoc

(near New World Hotel)

Oc Le Khanh: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/oc-le-khanh

(near US Consulate General)

Oc Dao Nguyen Trai: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/oc-dao-nguyen-trai

(near Backpackers Area – Pham Ngu Lao Street)

 

7. Bun thit nuong (grilled pork with cool noodles), cha gio (spring rolls)

If you’ re seeking for a meal with lots of fresh vegetables, try bun thit nuong. The smoky flavor barbecued meat served together with cool noodles, greased scallions and fresh vegetables present an extraordinary dish for foreigners.

Cha gio can somehow be considered as Vietnamese pate chaud. But it’s not pie, it’s spring roll. Wrap cha gio with vegetables, dip in whatever sauce the chef made for you and take a bite. Crispy outside, tasty inside! You can also have cha gio together with bun thit nuong. It would make a perfect combination.

 

Where to eat?

Chi Thong: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/chi-thong

(near Backpackers Area – Pham Ngu Lao Street)

Co Ba: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/co-ba-bun-thit-nuong

(near Tao Dan Park)

 

8. Banh xeo (Vietnamese crepe)

A good banh xeo is a crispy crepe bulging with pork, shrimp, and bean sprouts, plus the garnish of fresh herbs. It’s best to enjoy banh xeo by cutting it into medium slices, then roll it up in rice paper or lettuce leaves and dunk it in the special sauce served together the dish.

 

Where to eat?

Banh xeo Muoi Xiem: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/banh-xeo-muoi-xiem-nkkn

(near The Reunification Palace)

Banh xeo Long Huy: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/banh-xeo-long-huy

(near Tao Dan Park)

 

9. Bun bo Hue (Hue style beef noodles)

If you are a fan of spicy dishes, try bun bo Hue, the most popular Hue style street food in Vietnam. The dish is served in a bowl with round noodles, beef, pork baloney, vegetables and spicy broth. Add in a little sa te (chillies mixed in oil) for better taste.

 

Where to eat?

Bun bo Dong Ba: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/bun-bo-hue-dong-ba-nguyen-du

(near Ben Thanh Market)

 

10. Che (sweet gruel)

HCM City seems to be a capital of che with hundreds of type. This sweet dessert can be served in either a bowl (no ice) or a glass (with ice). Here are some suggestions in case you get confused by the wide range of selections for che:

. No ice: che dau (made from bean), che buoi (made from pomelo), che chuoi chung (made from banana), che khoai mon (made from taro), che bap (made from corn).

Che dau

Where to eat?

Che Nam Bo: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/che-nam-bo

(near Ho Chi Minh City Television Station)

 

. With ice: che Thai (Thai style with durian), che Tau (Chinese style sweet gruel), che khuc bach (a mix of cheese jelly, almond and longan/lychee), suong sa hot luu (a medley of jelly with coconut milk).

Che Thai

Che khuc bach

Where to eat?

Che My: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/che-my-2-nguyen-thai-hoc

(near Ben Thanh Market)

Today Che: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/today-che

(near Tan Dinh Market)

Che Ha Ky: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/che-ha-ky

(in China Town, District 5)

Che khuc bach is only served at Hoang Ty: http://www.foody.vn/ho-chi-minh/hoang-ty-dac-san-trang-bang-vo-van-tan (near Tao Dan Park)

 

Bài viết khác

Tải App cho

iPhone App
Android App
Windows Phone